

The Police Commission

CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO

January 17, 2017

Mr. Ben Rosenfield Controller City Hall, Room 316 #1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102

Dear Mr. Rosenfield:

At the meeting of the Police Commission on Wednesday, January 11, 2017, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLUTION 17-3

AWARDS GRANTED TO MEMBERS OF THE POLICE DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, the following named members of the Police Department are commended for courageous service under the provisions of General Order 3.09, Section I.A.1 of the San Francisco Police Department, as approved by the Awards Committee on October 4, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Interim Chief of Police Toney D. Chaplin has recommended to the Police Commission that the said members be rewarded under the provisions of Section 8.405(a)(4) of the Charter of the City and County of San Francisco; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Thomas Mazzucco announced that members recommended for Medals of Valor do not have any pending investigations at the OCC level or the Police Department level for any misconduct; and

WHEREAS, a motion by Commissioner L. Julius M. Turman to award Officer Arnaldo Aleman a Gold Medal of Valor instead of a Silver Medal of Valor was seconded by Commissioner Bill Ong Hing was passed unanimously; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that Officers Jared Harris and Arnaldo Aleman are hereby awarded the Gold Medal of Valor and granted rewards of \$1,500.00, as provided for under said section of the Charter; and be it further

RESOLVED, that Sergeant Kevin Byrne, Officers Gordon Moore, Jason Zmiga, Chris Schaefer, Scott McBride are hereby awarded the Silver Medal of Valor and granted rewards of \$1000.00, as provided for under said section of the Charter; and be it further

L. JULIUS M. TURMAN

THOMAS MAZZUCCO Vice President

DR. JOE MARSHALL

PETRA DeJESUS

SONIA MELARA

BILL ONG HING Commissioner

Sergeant Rachael Kilshaw

Mr. Ben Rosenfield Controller January 17, 2018 Page 2

RESOLVED, that Sergeant Patrick Kennedy, Officers Paul Ospital, Michael Franceschi, and Justin Sturm are hereby awarded Bronze Medals of Valor and granted rewards of \$500.00 each, as provided for under said section of the Charter.

AYES:

Commissioners Loftus, Turman, Marshall, Mazzucco, DeJesus, Hing

ABSENT:

Commissioner Melara

Very truly yours,

Sergeant Rachael Kilshaw

Secretary

San Francisco Police Commission

1345/rct

cc:

Captain R. Struckman/Staff Services

Ms. Belinda Chin/Payroll