Rev. 09/13/99

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

is order outlines the organizational structure of the San Francisco Police Department, luding rank hierarchy and reporting responsibilities.

POLICY

A. POLICE COMMISSION. The Police Commission, pursuant to Charter Section 4.109, is composed of five members appointed by the Mayor. The Commission has the authority to organize, reorganize, manage and set policy for the Police Department. The Police Commission adopts rules and regulations to govern the Department, approves the annual Department budget, and performs other functions as required by law.

B. ORDER OF RANK

Chief of Police Lieutenant
Assistant Chief Sergeant
Deputy Chief Inspector

Commander Assistant Inspector
Captain Police Officer

C. ORGANIZATION

1. CHIEF OF POLICE. The following organizational units shall report directly to the Chief of Police:

Assistant Chief

Deputy Chief, Administration Bureau

Deputy Chief, Airport Bureau

Deputy Chief, Inspectors Bureau

Deputy Chief, Field Operations Bureau

2. ASSISTANT CHIEF. The following organizational units shall report directly to the Assistant Chief:

Public Affairs Office Risk Management Office GO 1.01 ev. 09/13/99

3. ADMINISTRATION BUREAU. The following organizational units shall report directly to the Deputy Chief of the Administration Bureau:

Communications Division

Fiscal Division

Planning Division

Staff Services Division

Support Services Division

Training & Education Division

Behavioral Science Unit Consent Decree Division **Property Control Unit**

Field Training Program

4. AIRPORT BUREAU. The following organizational units shall report directly to the Commander of the Airport Bureau:

Administrative Services Patrol Division Special Services

5. INSPECTORS BUREAU. The following organizational units shall report to the Deputy Chief of the Inspectors Bureau:

General Investigations Division

Major Investigations Division

Narcotics / Vice Division

Juvenile and Family Services Division

Forensic Services Division

6. **FIELD OPERATIONS BUREAU**. The following organizational units shall report directly to the Deputy Chief of Field Operations Bureau:

Patrol Division

Special Operations Division

SEMPU

a. The following commands report to the Commander of the Patrol Division:

Central Station

Southern Station

Potrero Station

Mission Station
Richmond Station

Northern Station Ingleside Station

Park Station
Taraval Station

Tenderloin Task Force

Night Captains

Treasure Island/Marine

b. The following commands and units report to the Commander of the Special Operations Division:

Traffic Company

Crime Prevention Company

Muni Transit Company

Air Support Unit

Fugitive Recovery Enforcement Team (FRET)